A walk in the park…or 50!

Parkrun sign

On 24th December 2011 I was persuaded by my mum and dad to try a slightly different start to my Christmas morning: parkrun. We made our way to the cold and wet fields of Riddlesdown and were joined by 59 other runners all keen to start their day with a 5k run. The run itself was not my fastest ever – i ended up on my backside whilst negotiating one of the particularly muddy corners – however I was taken in by the enthusiasm of the marshalls and the fun atmosphere of the event. I was so impressed that I determined to find my nearest parkrun event on my return to Glasgow and two weeks later I found myself lining up in a huge field of 318 ready for my first ever Pollok parkrun.In the four and a half years that followed I went through phases of regular attendance followed by spells of very infrequent visits and thus yesterday I finally reached my 50th parkrun.

Conditions were great for running and my recent form had been pretty good. Since finishing the London Marathon three weeks previously I had managed to secure new Personal Bests at both 2Mile (at the Bellahouston Harriers Time Trial) and at 10k (Helensburgh 10k) and so was feeling confident of putting in a decent performance. During the warm up I did feel heavy in the legs and realised that this was probably the price of running a fast 10k two days earlier. I bumped into a few fellow Harriers before the start of the race and realised that there were a few runners present who would be applying the pressure right the way up to the finish line.

The run was a tough one and I spent most of it running in a small breakaway group of three before managing to find an extra gear in the final kilometre to break away. I was happy with my eventual finish time of 16:33 – just outside of my personal best – as I feel that once the Polaroid 10k series is out of the way, I should be able to knock a few more seconds off and hopefully challenge my pb.

Over the 50 parkrun events that I have completed I have managed to tick off the following locations:

Pollok Park (37)

Riddlesdown (4)

Tollcross (2)

Victoria Park (2)

Sheffield Hallam (1)

Eglinton Park (1)

Falkirk Park (1)

Aberdeen (1)

Springburn Park (1)

Leave a Reply

