Balloch to Clydebank Half

Just in the door from a tough, but enjoyable, run from Lomond Shores to Clydebank Shopping Centre. Not an epic shopping trip but the annual pilgrimage for the long standing and well established Balloch to Clydebank Half.

 

Good to catch up with a lot of people en route. Big turn out of Harriers in particular as the race is in the winter championship. Despite breaking down on the Balloch roundabout we made the start line about 40 minutes before kick off and I even tried a wee warm up given that I was nursing a tight hamstring from training on Thursday.

 

I missed the race last year so the canal path start threw me a little but I settled into a steady 7minute per mile pace. 30 seconds a minute quicker than planned but it felt ok. I could even have gone faster in the early stages but my hamstring was keen to let me know that I shouldn’t push it too hard. All in this was a good thing as the last few miles I was hanging on a little bit as the picture below clearly shows (Thanks to Tony for this one).

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-13 at 13.02.48.png

 

Great to hear of so many PBs for Harriers and other running pals today. Can anyone top The Boy’s wife 12 minute PB? I doubt it 🙂 I’ve lost track of my half marathon PB so am going to say that my new shiny 1:32:27 is the benchmark for me to beat.

 

Big shout out to the organisers and volunteers as always. There were loads of them. Off out for a refreshment and some food now and to elevate this blasted hamstring.

 

https://www.strava.com/activities/515791278

Leave a Reply

