Renfrewshire X-Country Champs 2016

This year I missed the start of the cross country season due to being focused on the Amsterdam  Marathon in the middle of October. I enjoyed spectating at a few of the events but was definitely missing out on the challenge and camaraderie which seems to be such a prominent feature of cross country races; there is something about running through the cold, wet mud with a load of like-minded (odd) people which generates an atmosphere like no other. So it was that I found myself lining up on the start line at the Renfrewshire Championships for my first x-country of the season.

xcountrysquad

The rain stayed away and the cold was soon forgotten after a decent warm up with a few of the other Harriers. We just about made it back to slip on the spikes, lose the layers and get in a few strides before being called back to take our positions on the line. As I looked to my right I spotted a few exceptional runners from Inverclyde who looked like they meant business as well as a few mates from other clubs whom I knew would be looking to put down some fast times.

startxcountryren

A blast of a whistle announced the start of the race and we were off. After an overenthusiastic burst away from the start I realised I had been a little over-keen and so dropped the pace to settle into a rhythm. I found myself striding along with Cris Walsh sat on my shoulder for the duration of the first lap. I knew Cris would be putting in a good performance on the back of an excellent year including a great result representing Scotland in X-Country last weekend. We continued to run together until I nearly took him out when I lost my footing turning a corner on lap two. We both recovered very quickly, and I don’t think my time was affected in any way, but I was unable to match Cris as he strode away up the hill. I settled into my stride and, naively, believed I would make up any lost ground on  Cris over the downhill section that would follow. Needless to say, this didn’t happen! Any ground that I was able to make up was soon lost again as  I found myself struggling to match his pace on the uphill sections of the course.

xcountryren2

As we hit the final lap I put in a final burst and managed to close the gap on Cris slightly but it was too little, too late. I finished the race in 32:55 (8seconds behind Cris) to take 9th place. We managed to claim bronze in the Men’s competition and there were some great results for the Harriers all round. Cris did well to claim silver in the V40 race while Anne Macfie took bronze in the V50 category.

xcountry1ren.jpg

This was a great day, and I definitely will have benefited from the session, but I did finish a little disappointed with my performance. I struggled to find my rhythm and my splits would suggest that I switched off a little in the middle.This was definitely a learning experience however and it was nice to get a proper race under my belt after my marathon. It has definitely given me a focus again and a renewed motivation to get things back on track. Next week is the Glasgow Uni 5 Miler and I cannot wait to toe the start line once more…

xcountrycooldown

Leave a Reply

